sh-Polypeptide-7 for Hair Regrowth

Evidence Review created on 09/28/2026 using AI4L / Opus 5.5

Also known as: rh-Polypeptide-7, SH-Polypeptide-7, Recombinant Human Growth Hormone, rhGH, rh-hGH, Somatotropin, Somatropin, rh-Somatotropin, CG-Somatotropin, CG-hGH

Motivation

sh-Polypeptide-7 is the cosmetic ingredient name for a lab-made copy of human growth hormone, produced by bacteria and added to scalp serums sold for thinning hair. Its appeal rests on a simple idea: the body’s own growth hormone helps keep hair roots productive, so delivering a copy straight to the scalp might coax tired roots back into growth without an injected hormone.

Interest grew as clinics began pairing multi-ingredient serums with lasers, fine needles, or suction-based scalp treatments meant to carry large proteins past the skin barrier. The ingredient now appears in several professional hair-care lines, while laboratory work on human hair roots has raised open questions about how growth hormone itself acts on hair.

This review examines what is known about sh-Polypeptide-7 for hair regrowth: how it is thought to work, the human and laboratory evidence, its risks and uncertainties, how it is used in practice, and how it fits the goals of adults who treat hair preservation as part of a long-term health strategy.

Benefits - Risks - Protocol - Conclusion

This section lists high-level resources on sh-Polypeptide-7 and the growth hormone pathway it targets in hair.

No relevant content was found from Rhonda Patrick, Chris Kresser, or Lifespan.io: none has published on sh-Polypeptide-7, and the hair-loss or growth hormone material found in searches does not address growth hormone or growth-factor treatments for hair.

Grokipedia

No Grokipedia article on sh-Polypeptide-7 exists.

Examine

No Examine article on sh-Polypeptide-7 exists.

ConsumerLab

No ConsumerLab article on sh-Polypeptide-7 exists.

Systematic Reviews

This section lists systematic reviews bearing on the delivery procedures and systemic risks of sh-Polypeptide-7, since none reviews the ingredient itself.

No systematic review or meta-analysis of sh-Polypeptide-7 itself was found on PubMed as of September 28, 2026; its claimed hair effect is represented only indirectly, through the device-plus-growth-factor studies within the microneedling review.

Mechanism of Action

sh-Polypeptide-7 is recombinant human growth hormone (somatotropin) made in Escherichia coli bacteria. Its INCI (International Nomenclature of Cosmetic Ingredients) definition allows up to 217 amino acids, versus 191 in the natural 22-kDa (kilodalton, a unit of molecular size) hormone.

  • Proposed pro-growth pathway: Binding to growth hormone receptors on outer root sheath cells (the follicle’s outer sleeve) activates JAK2-STAT5 (an enzyme-driven signaling relay) and local IGF-1 production; IGF-1 prolongs anagen (the active growth phase) in cultured follicles.
  • Competing pathway: In cultured female scalp follicles, growth hormone also raised TGF-β2 (transforming growth factor beta 2, a growth-halting signal) and pushed follicles into catagen (the regression phase), so the net effect may be inhibitory or sex-dependent.
  • Delivery barrier: Molecules above roughly 500 daltons rarely cross intact skin (Bos & Meinardi, 2000). Products use nanoliposomes (microscopic fat bubbles carrying the protein), fractional laser (a laser that drills microscopic skin columns), microneedling (fine-needle puncture), or hydradermabrasion (suction exfoliation with serum infusion).
  • Pharmacology: Injected growth hormone has a half-life of about 20 minutes intravenously and 2–4 hours subcutaneously. It is selective for its receptor but also binds the prolactin receptor (the milk-production hormone’s receptor) at high concentrations, and is cleared by proteolysis (breakdown by protein-digesting enzymes) in liver and kidney, with no cytochrome P450 (liver drug-metabolizing enzyme) involvement. Topical distribution is unmeasured.
  • Blend context: Marketed serums pair it with six other bacterial copies of growth factors, so no effect can be assigned to it alone.

Historical Context & Evolution

  • Original use: Human growth hormone was isolated from pituitary glands in 1956 and used from 1958 for childhood growth failure. Pituitary-derived supplies were withdrawn in 1985 after transmission of Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease (a fatal infectious brain disease), the year recombinant hormone was approved.
  • Health-optimization interest: A 1990 trial in men over 60 reporting more lean mass and less body fat fuelled off-label longevity-clinic use; a 2007 systematic review later found small body-composition changes alongside more adverse events.
  • Cosmetic biomimetics: From the 2000s, biotechnology firms, notably in South Korea, produced bacterial copies of human growth factors for cosmetics under “sh-“ (synthetic human) INCI names; older listings use “rh-“ (recombinant human). sh-Polypeptide-7 is the growth hormone entry.
  • Hair-specific formulation: A patent with 2017 priority by James Bartholomeusz of SkinQRI, the manufacturer, claims a topical blend including sh-Oligopeptide-1, sh-Polypeptide-7, and sh-Polypeptide-71 aimed at stages of anagen, sold as KeraFactor. HydraFacial’s Keravive spray lists the same seven lab-made protein copies.
  • Evolving science: Links between growth hormone deficiency and hair loss motivated the approach. A 2019 finding that growth hormone inhibited cultured female follicles added a counter-signal. Neither observation answers the topical question, which no controlled trial has yet tested.

Expected Benefits

High 🟩 🟩 🟩

No benefit reaches High: no randomized controlled trial (RCT, a study that assigns treatment by chance against a comparison) has tested sh-Polypeptide-7, alone or in a serum, and the human hair data are uncontrolled case series.

Medium 🟩 🟩

No benefit reaches Medium: the human hair studies of sh-Polypeptide-7 serums are single-arm series without a control group, which fall short of single-controlled-trial evidence.

Low 🟩

Hair Density and Shaft Diameter Gains ⚠️ Conflicted

Serums containing sh-Polypeptide-7, applied after laser or hydradermabrasion, preceded gains in an uncontrolled pilot led by KeraFactor’s co-developer and a sponsor-run study. Hair defects in Laron syndrome (inherited growth hormone insensitivity) support the pathway, but growth hormone halted cultured female follicles. Net reading: weak benefit signal, unconfirmed by laboratory data.

Magnitude: Statistically significant (unlikely to be due to chance) density and diameter gains over 6 months in 10 adults, with the size of the change not reported in the abstract; 75% of participants in the sponsor’s 2019 study self-reported fuller hair after the full course of treatments (HydraFacial); hair loss followed surgery for acromegaly (removal of a tumour causing adult hormone excess) in 54% (263 of 484), more often when surgery cured the excess, versus 3.6% after surgery for hormone-inactive tumours; each 1 SD (standard deviation, the typical spread of values around the average) higher IGF-1 carried 0.68 times the risk of hair loss in women (95% CI [confidence interval, the range likely to contain the true value] 0.48–0.97); a microneedling systematic review rated device-plus-topical evidence low quality.

Less Scalp Itch, Dryness, and Flaking ⭕️ Not Central to Hair Regrowth

Users of the Keravive hydradermabrasion protocol reported less scalp itch, dryness, and flaking in the sponsor’s single-arm study (HydraFacial). Cleansing and exfoliation, rather than sh-Polypeptide-7, may explain this. It bears on scalp comfort; a scalp-condition review links healthier scalps to better hair retention.

Magnitude: Direction only: users reported improvement after the first session, and the sponsor reports no outcome figure for these scalp symptoms.

Speculative 🟨

Dermal Collagen Support ⭕️ Not Central to Hair Regrowth

Injected growth hormone gave older men a non-significant 7% skin-thickness gain, and a liposomal topical form eased ultraviolet wrinkling in mice. This bears on scalp skin quality, not regrowth; basis is systemic and animal data.

Benefit-Modifying Factors

  • Genetic polymorphisms: d3-GHR carriers (a common variant of the GHR gene, which encodes the growth hormone receptor) respond more strongly to injected hormone (Boguszewski et al., 2017), untested topically. AR gene variants (encoding the androgen receptor, which mediates follicle shrinkage) set pattern-loss severity.
  • Baseline biomarkers: Low ferritin (iron stores), thyroid dysfunction, or vitamin D deficiency cause shedding that no serum offsets; correcting them first clarifies response. Low baseline IGF-1 is the plausible responder profile, but no study has stratified by it.
  • Sex differences: Growth hormone inhibited cultured female follicles, while male follicles are untested. Human serum series enrolled both sexes without sex-specific results, and the ongoing randomized trial enrolls women only.
  • Pre-existing conditions: Benefit is plausible only with living follicles, as in mild-to-moderate androgenetic alopecia (pattern hair loss driven by androgen sensitivity; Norwood 2–4, Ludwig I–II severity scales). Scarring alopecias (follicle-destroying inflammatory conditions) and long-bald areas offer no target.
  • Age: Growth hormone and IGF-1 decline with age (somatopause, the age-related hormone fall), which could theoretically favor older users. Studies enrolled adults aged 30–55, leaving those over 60 unstudied.

Potential Risks & Side Effects

High 🟥 🟥 🟥

No risk reaches High: no controlled trial has recorded adverse events attributable to sh-Polypeptide-7, and the available safety reports are uncontrolled, sponsor-linked series of multi-ingredient serums.

Medium 🟥 🟥

No risk reaches Medium: no single controlled trial or consistent observational dataset has documented adverse events from sh-Polypeptide-7 serums.

Low 🟥

Most protocols pair the serum with microneedling, fractional laser, or hydradermabrasion, which cause transient pain, redness, and pinpoint bleeding and leave open channels that could admit infection. A systematic review of microneedling for hair loss found no serious adverse events. Evidence is indirect: the risk belongs to the delivery procedure.

Magnitude: No serious adverse events among 657 microneedling-treated subjects; the laser-plus-serum pilot reported no side effects in 10 subjects; rates of transient pain and redness have not been pooled.

Systemic Growth Hormone Effects If Absorbed

Injected growth hormone causes fluid swelling, joint pain, and raised blood sugar, with a long-term cancer concern (somatropin drug reference). Whether scalp-applied sh-Polypeptide-7 reaches the bloodstream is unmeasured in people; mouse absorption data show a modified form can. Evidence is indirect: the effects are documented only for injected use.

Magnitude: In adults with growth hormone deficiency, injected growth hormone caused hand, foot, or ankle swelling in 17.5% versus 5.1% on placebo and joint pain in 17.3% versus 4.2% during the first 6 months, per the somatropin drug reference; in healthy older adults, it raised rates of soft-tissue swelling, joint pain, carpal tunnel syndrome (wrist nerve compression), and male breast enlargement in a systematic review of randomized trials; no study reports an outcome figure for scalp-applied sh-Polypeptide-7.

Speculative 🟨

Premature Hair-Cycle Regression and Shedding

Cultured female scalp follicles exposed to growth hormone entered catagen early via TGF-β2. Whether scalp-applied sh-Polypeptide-7 does this in people is unknown; basis is laboratory-only.

Follicle Stem Cell Ageing From Chronic IGF-1 Excess

Mice overproducing IGF-1 in skin showed follicle stem cell senescence (permanent cell-division arrest), earlier greying, and hair loss. Relevance to low-dose cosmetic use is unknown; basis is animal-only.

Sensitization to a Recombinant Protein

Proteins pushed through laser or needle channels bypass the skin barrier and could, in theory, provoke antibodies or allergy. No cases are reported; basis is mechanistic only.

Risk-Modifying Factors

  • Genetic polymorphisms: No variant is known to change topical risk. The d3-GHR variant heightens systemic growth hormone sensitivity, relevant only if meaningful absorption occurs.
  • Baseline biomarkers: IGF-1 above the age-adjusted range or known acromegaly makes added growth hormone exposure undesirable; low platelet counts or clotting abnormalities raise bleeding risk with needle- or laser-assisted delivery.
  • Sex differences: Growth-halting laboratory effects were seen in female follicles, so women may carry greater theoretical risk of paradoxical shedding. Pregnancy and breastfeeding are untested.
  • Pre-existing conditions: Active scalp dermatitis, psoriasis, infection, keloid tendency (overgrown scarring), or scalp skin cancer raise procedure and healing risks; diabetes may slow healing of laser channels.
  • Age: Thinner, slower-healing skin in adults over 65 prolongs recovery from laser or microneedling. No safety data exist beyond age 65.

Key Interactions & Contraindications

  • Injected growth hormone or secretagogues (drugs that trigger natural growth hormone release; somatropin, tesamorelin, sermorelin, ibutamoren): Caution. Consequence: theoretical additive growth hormone exposure (fluid retention, raised IGF-1); the topical contribution is presumed negligible. Mitigation: disclosure to the prescribing clinician and existing IGF-1 monitoring.
  • Anticoagulants and antiplatelet drugs (blood thinners that slow clotting; warfarin, apixaban, clopidogrel): Caution with needle- or laser-assisted delivery. Consequence: increased pinpoint bleeding and bruising; none expected with serum alone. Mitigation: shallower needle depth or topical-only use.
  • Isotretinoin and topical retinoids (vitamin A–derived skin drugs; tretinoin): Relative contraindication for laser or microneedling. Consequence: impaired healing and scarring. Mitigation: many protocols require 6 months off isotretinoin and pausing topical retinoids 3–5 days before sessions.
  • Photosensitizing drugs (drugs that make skin more sensitive to light; doxycycline, hydrochlorothiazide) with laser or red-light protocols: Monitor. Consequence: burn or irritation risk. Mitigation: disclosure before device sessions and lower energy settings.
  • Topical minoxidil (over-the-counter): Monitor. No pharmacological interaction is known; co-application of alcohol-based vehicles may increase scalp irritation. Mitigation: separating applications by several hours.
  • Aspirin and NSAIDs (nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs; ibuprofen, naproxen): Monitor with needle-assisted delivery. Consequence: minor extra bleeding. Mitigation: pausing 3–7 days before procedures where medically appropriate.
  • Oral 5-alpha-reductase inhibitors (drugs blocking conversion of testosterone to dihydrotestosterone; finasteride, dutasteride): Compatible; no known interaction, and commonly combined. Consequence: none expected, though attribution of benefit becomes unclear. Mitigation: none required.
  • Blood-thinning supplements (fish oil, vitamin E, ginkgo): Monitor with needle-assisted delivery. Consequence: more bruising. Mitigation: pausing 5–7 days before sessions.
  • Growth hormone–releasing supplements (arginine, ornithine, GABA [gamma-aminobutyric acid, a calming brain messenger]): Monitor. Consequence: a theoretical additive rise in growth hormone signaling and IGF-1, presumed minimal. Mitigation: none beyond noting use when interpreting IGF-1 results.
  • Other peptide or growth factor serums (copper peptides, sh-Polypeptide-9): Monitor. Overlapping mechanisms; stacking multiplies irritation and sensitization risk and obscures attribution. Mitigation: introducing one product at a time.
  • Other interventions (low-level light therapy, PRP [platelet-rich plasma, a concentrate of the person’s own platelets], microneedling): Monitor; potentiating by design in combination protocols. Consequence: additive procedure-related redness and pain. Mitigation: staggering sessions by at least 1–2 weeks.

Populations who should avoid sh-Polypeptide-7:

  • Pregnant or breastfeeding individuals (no safety data)
  • People with active malignancy or any cancer diagnosis, mirroring the exclusions of the KeraFactor randomized trial
  • People with acromegaly or IGF-1 above the age-adjusted upper limit
  • Active scalp infection, open wounds, or a psoriasis or dermatitis flare in the treatment area
  • Isotretinoin use within the past 6 months (laser- or needle-assisted protocols)
  • Known hypersensitivity to any serum component
  • Athletes under WADA (World Anti-Doping Agency) testing, which prohibits growth hormone at all times
  • Individuals under 18 years (no data)

Risk Mitigation Strategies

  • Patch test before whole-scalp use: Application to a 2 × 2 cm area behind the ear for 48 hours detects irritation or allergy to the protein or vehicle before full exposure.
  • Conservative device settings: Microneedle depths of 0.5–1.5 mm and laser energy at manufacturer starting settings limit procedure-related pain, bleeding, and scarring; depth increases only if earlier sessions healed within 48 hours.
  • Sterile product into fresh channels: Single-use sterile vials after laser or needling, with no scalp washing for 24 hours, reduce infection risk; home multi-use bottles are reserved for intact skin.
  • Photographic shedding check: Standardized photographs at baseline, 6, and 12 weeks detect paradoxical shedding from premature catagen early; a rise persisting beyond 8 weeks prompts discontinuation.
  • One growth-signal product at a time: Avoiding stacked peptide serums for 8–12 weeks after starting limits sensitization risk and allows attribution of both benefit and adverse events.
  • Pre-procedure medication pause: Stopping blood-thinning supplements 5–7 days before sessions and allowing 6 months after isotretinoin lowers bleeding and scarring risk from device-assisted delivery.

Therapeutic Protocol

  • Home serum (KeraFactor-type): One full dropper massaged into the scalp once daily, not rinsed, per the KeraFactor randomized trial. The label omits the sh-Polypeptide-7 concentration; the patent range is 0.00043–0.00243% w/w (ingredient weight per product weight). Popularized by SkinQRI.
  • Laser-assisted in-office protocol (KeraLase): A 1927-nm fractional thulium laser followed immediately by sterile serum; three sessions 4 weeks apart were favored in the pilot. Popularized by Amy Forman Taub and SkinQRI.
  • Hydradermabrasion protocol (HydraScalp with Keravive): Three monthly in-office suction-infusion sessions plus a daily take-home peptide spray. Popularized by HydraFacial (Beauty Health).
  • Alternative approaches without sh-Polypeptide-7: Minoxidil, 5-alpha-reductase inhibitors, low-level light therapy, and PRP have larger controlled evidence bases; some clinics layer the serum onto them, others use them alone.
  • Time of day: No circadian data exist. Evening application after washing suits most routines; in the red-light trial, serum is applied immediately before the light cap.
  • Half-life: Subcutaneously injected growth hormone has a half-life of 2–4 hours; topical residence time is unknown, which is why products are applied daily.
  • Single or split dose: A single daily application is standard; no study has compared split dosing.
  • Genetic polymorphisms: No pharmacogenetic dosing guidance exists. d3-GHR carriers show greater systemic growth hormone sensitivity, and AR gene variants predict how aggressive pattern loss is.
  • Sex differences: No sex-specific dosing exists. Laboratory data showing inhibition in female follicles make early shedding checks especially relevant for women.
  • Age: Trials enrolled ages 30–55. Older adults may need gentler device settings because skin heals more slowly.
  • Baseline biomarkers: Iron, thyroid, and vitamin D deficits were screening exclusions in the randomized trial; correcting them before starting avoids confounded results.
  • Pre-existing conditions: Protocols target mild-to-moderate androgenetic alopecia (Norwood 2–4, Ludwig I–II); active scalp disease is treated first, and scarring alopecia is excluded.

Discontinuation & Cycling

  • Duration: Use is framed as ongoing maintenance, like other topical hair therapies; no study has followed users beyond 6 months after treatment.
  • Withdrawal effects: None are known. Gains, if any, are expected to regress gradually after stopping, as with other hair-cycle stimulants, but this is unmeasured.
  • Tapering: Not required; abrupt stopping carries no known rebound risk.
  • Cycling: No evidence supports cycling. Clinics commonly offer periodic maintenance sessions every 3–6 months, but no study has compared schedules.

Sourcing and Quality

  • Ingredient identity: Products list “sh-Polypeptide-7” in the INCI ingredient list; examples include KeraFactor (SkinQRI), Keravive (HydraFacial), and several Korean serums catalogued by INCIDecoder. Product labels omit concentrations; the SkinQRI patent gives 0.00043–0.00243% w/w for sh-Polypeptide-7.
  • Bioactivity is unverified: No public assay confirms that cosmetic sh-Polypeptide-7 retains hormone activity; a critique of the related sh-Oligopeptide-1 found no proof of preclinical bioactivity for that ingredient.
  • Formulation: Proteins degrade with heat and time; nanoliposome encapsulation, airless packaging, refrigeration if labeled, and use before the expiry date protect activity.
  • Manufacturing standards: Cosmetics are not batch-certified by regulators; ISO 22716 (the international good manufacturing practice standard for cosmetics) certification is the most meaningful quality signal. No third-party testing program covers these serums.
  • Sterility for procedures: Only sterile, single-use professional vials are suitable for laser or needle channels; retail bottles are designed for intact skin.

Practical Considerations

  • Time to effect: Hair cycles are slow; studies assessed outcomes at 12 to 24 weeks, and sponsor-reported fullness appeared after the first session, likely reflecting cosmetic hair-shaft effects before any regrowth.
  • Common pitfalls: Dropping proven therapies for an unproven serum, skipping baseline photographs, crediting the serum for device effects, and overlooking iron or thyroid causes of shedding.
  • Regulatory status: sh-Polypeptide-7 is a cosmetic ingredient, not an approved drug. Under FDA rules, hair-regrowth claims make a product a drug; KeraFactor markets itself as hormone-free despite the growth hormone INCI definition.
  • Cost and payer incentives: KeraFactor solution lists at $174 per 50 mL, with in-office sessions billed separately. Insurers do not reimburse cosmetic hair-loss care, so payer incentives exert little influence; product and device makers fund most research.
  • Accessibility: Products are sold mainly through clinics and provider-linked online stores, which also perform the laser and hydradermabrasion protocols.

Interaction with Foundational Habits

  • Sleep: None known. The serum has no known effect on sleep; the body’s own growth hormone peaks during deep sleep, so chronic short sleep lowers natural output that topical use cannot replace. Evening application after washing fits most routines.
  • Nutrition: Indirect. Adequate protein, iron, zinc, and vitamin D support follicles; severe calorie restriction lowers IGF-1 and can trigger shedding, whereas in mice dietary restriction reversed IGF-1–driven follicle ageing (Wang et al., 2025). No foods interact with the serum.
  • Exercise: Indirect. Exercise transiently raises the body’s own growth hormone; heavy sweating can dilute freshly applied serum, so application after post-workout washing is practical. After laser or microneedling, sweating and swimming are commonly avoided for 24–48 hours to limit infection.
  • Stress management: Indirect. Stress hormones push follicles into telogen (the resting, shedding phase) (Thom, 2016); no data show the serum alters cortisol, so unmanaged stress can mask any benefit.

Monitoring Protocol & Defining Success

Baseline testing before starting establishes a reference point and rules out reversible causes of shedding: standardized scalp photographs and trichoscopy (magnified scalp imaging) at a marked site, plus blood tests for ferritin, TSH (thyroid-stimulating hormone), 25-hydroxyvitamin D, a CBC (complete blood count) and, where growth hormone excess or deficiency is suspected, IGF-1. This mirrors the screening panel of the KeraFactor randomized trial.

Ongoing monitoring repeats photographs and trichoscopy at 12 and 24 weeks, then every 6 months, matching the timepoints of published and registered studies. Blood tests are repeated every 6–12 months, or sooner if shedding increases. Because hair changes lag treatment by months, judgments before 12 weeks rest on little information.

Biomarker Optimal Functional Range Why Measure It? Context/Notes
Hair density (hairs/cm²) No established target; track change from own baseline Primary regrowth readout Same marked site, magnification, and lighting each visit; baseline, 12, 24 weeks
Hair shaft diameter (µm) No established target; track change from own baseline Detects thickening of miniaturized hairs Measured by trichoscopy alongside density
Ferritin 50–100 ng/mL Iron deficiency drives shedding Conventional reference roughly 15–150 ng/mL in women; inflammation raises ferritin, so pair with CBC and C-reactive protein
TSH 0.5–2.5 mIU/L Thyroid dysfunction causes diffuse loss Conventional reference about 0.4–4.5 mIU/L; morning draw; pair with free thyroxine
25-hydroxyvitamin D 40–60 ng/mL Deficiency is linked to hair loss Conventional sufficiency threshold 30 ng/mL; no fasting needed
IGF-1 No hair-specific target; middle of the age-adjusted range Flags growth hormone excess or deficiency relevant to risk and response Age- and sex-specific reference ranges; optional; single draw, no fasting needed

Qualitative markers of success:

  • Less hair on the pillow, brush, and shower drain
  • Visibly fuller part line or crown in matched photographs
  • Hair that feels thicker between the fingers
  • Absence of scalp itching, stinging, or redness after application
  • Fewer flakes and less scalp dryness

Emerging Research

  • KeraFactor with red light, placebo-controlled: NCT07810504 randomizes 40 women aged 35–55 with pattern hair loss to serum, placebo serum, red-light cap, or both for 24 weeks (phase not applicable). Primary endpoints: hair density, fiber diameter, terminal-to-vellus ratio (thick versus fine hairs). SkinQRI and the device maker are collaborators.
  • Separating serum from laser: NCT07079657 at University Medical Center Hamburg-Eppendorf randomizes 30 adults to thulium laser alone, laser plus growth factor serum, or both plus LED (light-emitting diode) light; endpoints are density and thickness. Serum composition is not specified in the registry.
  • Unpublished Keravive data: NCT06112782, a completed 44-person single-arm study sponsored by Beauty Health, lists no posted results; publication could confirm or temper marketing figures.
  • Sex-dependent growth hormone effects: Horesh et al., 2021 propose testing male scalp follicles with the concentrations that inhibited female follicles; results could strengthen or weaken the rationale for either sex.
  • IGF-1 and follicle ageing: Wang et al., 2025 link chronic skin IGF-1 excess to follicle stem cell senescence in mice, a longevity-relevant signal that could weaken the case for long-term growth-signal stimulation.
  • Bioactivity of cosmetic sh-proteins: Martínez-Carpio, 2023 argues sh-Oligopeptide-1 lacks proven bioactivity; comparable assays on sh-Polypeptide-7 would show whether products deliver active hormone at all.

Conclusion

sh-Polypeptide-7 is a lab-made copy of human growth hormone sold as a cosmetic ingredient in scalp serums, usually alongside similar proteins and often paired with lasers, fine needles, or suction treatments. The idea is reasonable: people whose bodies cannot respond to growth hormone tend to have sparse, fragile hair, and shedding often follows a sudden drop in the hormone. Yet the same hormone applied to isolated human hair roots in the laboratory slowed their growth, and animal work suggests that too much of the growth signal it triggers can age the cells that renew hair.

Human evidence for the ingredient itself is thin. The only hair results come from small studies without comparison groups that tested whole blends together with devices, and they were run or funded by the companies or clinicians who developed and sell those products. No study separates this ingredient’s effect from the rest of the formula or the procedure. Because health insurers do not pay for this kind of hair care, they exert little pull on the research; the main pull toward favorable findings comes from sellers.

Known harms relate mostly to the delivery procedures: brief pain, redness, and minor bleeding. Whole-body hormone effects appear unlikely because the protein barely passes through skin, though this has not been measured in people. For hair-focused adults willing to invest effort, sh-Polypeptide-7 is an add-on whose benefit has not been shown apart from the products and procedures it comes with.

Top - Benefits - Risks - Protocol